top of page

Toronto Home Energy Loan Program 2026: How to Finance Up to $125,000 in Renovations

  • 416 Construction
  • 2 days ago
  • 16 min read

Toronto homeowner financing up to $125,000 in energy-efficient renovations through the Home Energy Loan Program.

A heat pump, new windows, insulation and the electrical work behind them can turn one energy retrofit into a major capital project. The expensive mistake is assuming that Toronto will simply reimburse a $125,000 contractor quote. The City’s Home Energy Loan Program (HELP) can finance eligible improvements, but the approved amount depends on the property, all registered owners, mortgage-lender consent, the proposed measures and the City’s funding process.


The details matter because the loan is collected with the property tax bill and is attached to the property. Rates are also time-sensitive: the City’s current fixed rates are valid only until September 30, 2026. The City says HELP applications are open and last modified its main program page on August 13, 2026.


Quick Answer:

Toronto homeowners can apply for HELP financing for approved energy improvements such as heat pumps, insulation, windows, rooftop solar and related work. The headline maximum is $125,000, but the City says the total loan value—including the funding amount, interest and a 2% administration charge—cannot exceed the lesser of $125,000 or 10% of the property’s current value assessment. Approval comes before construction, repayment is made through 11 property-tax instalments per year, and mortgage-lender consent is required where applicable.


Key Takeaways

  • HELP is a City of Toronto loan for eligible home-energy improvements, not a general-purpose renovation grant.

  • Eligible properties must be in Toronto with a postal code beginning with “M”; North York, Etobicoke and Scarborough can qualify, while neighbouring GTA municipalities do not qualify for this City program.

  • The City’s current fixed rates are 3.34% for five years, 4.01% for 10 years, 4.46% for 15 years and 4.75% for 20 years, valid until September 30, 2026.

  • A 20-year term is limited to projects that include solar, windows, geothermal and/or heat pumps.

  • Every owner on title must consent, and a mortgaged property requires the mortgage lender’s written consent.

  • Most projects require pre- and post-retrofit EnerGuide assessments; heat-pump-only and rooftop-solar-only projects use a streamlined process without those assessments.

  • Up to 30% of approved funds may be available after the Property Owner Agreement is approved, if requested; final funds follow completion review.

  • The HELP charge remains with the property on sale unless it is paid out, so owners should discuss a planned sale or refinance with their lender and lawyer.


Table of Contents

  1. What HELP is—and what “up to $125,000” means

  2. Eligibility in Toronto

  3. Eligible renovations

  4. 2026 rates, payments and HST

  5. Application process and timeline

  6. Rebates and other financing

  7. Permits, inspections and professional help

  8. Common mistakes

  9. 416 Construction practical guidance



What Is the Toronto Home Energy Loan Program?

The Toronto Home Energy Loan Program is municipal financing for approved energy-efficiency, renewable-energy and water-saving improvements to eligible low-rise residential properties. The City advances approved funds, then collects repayment through the property tax account. The financing operates as a Local Improvement Charge, and the City maintains a public disclosure page for property-specific HELP bylaws. City of Toronto: HELP LIC Disclosure


HELP is not a rebate and does not reduce the contractor’s price by itself. It is debt secured through a charge on the property. The homeowner remains responsible for choosing and paying contractors, obtaining permits and delivering the documents needed for final funding.


What Does “Up to $125,000” Really Mean?

The direct answer is that $125,000 is a ceiling, not an entitlement. The City says the loan’s value—including the funding amount, interest and the 2% administration charge—cannot exceed the lesser of:

  1. 10% of the property’s current value assessment (CVA); or

  2. $125,000.


Hypothetical example: If a property’s CVA is $800,000, 10% is $80,000. On the City’s published wording, the total HELP obligation cannot exceed $80,000, even if the proposed eligible work costs more. The City’s preliminary funding offer and later approved Funding Request determine the actual amount; this example is not an approval calculation.


There is also a point homeowners should clarify in writing. The City’s payment chart shows examples up to a “loan amount” of $125,000, while the limit immediately above says the loan value includes funding, interest and the administration charge. Do not use the chart’s $125,000 row as proof that a $125,000 project cheque will be available. Ask HELP staff to confirm the approved funding amount, total repayment obligation and payment schedule for the property before signing contracts.


Who Is Eligible for HELP in Toronto?

A Toronto property may qualify when every published eligibility condition is met. The City currently lists the following requirements:

  • The applicant owns a detached house, semi-detached house, row house, duplex, triplex or other low-rise residential building with no more than three storeys and six units.

  • The property is in Toronto and its postal code begins with “M.”

  • Every owner registered on title consents to participate.

  • The property has had no more than three instances in the past three years when a property tax or utility account was 60 days past due.

  • The mortgage lender provides written consent where the property is mortgaged. The City supplies a customized lender-consent form.


The City’s public eligibility list does not state a minimum conventional credit score or promise that “no credit check” will occur. Homeowners should not rely on that claim from a contractor or financing website. The City reviews program eligibility, the mortgage lender decides whether to consent, and either may request information relevant to its decision.


Where Is HELP Available?

HELP is available only inside the City of Toronto. A qualifying property in North York, Etobicoke or Scarborough is in Toronto and normally has an “M” postal code. A property in Mississauga, Oakville, Burlington, Vaughan, Richmond Hill or Pickering is governed by a different municipality and is not eligible for Toronto HELP, even if the contractor works across the GTA.


Which Renovations Can HELP Finance?

HELP is designed for eligible energy and water improvements. A full-home renovation may contain qualifying and non-qualifying work, so the funding request should separate each measure and its cost.

  • Building envelope: Basement, attic and exterior-wall insulation; air sealing; window and door replacement. Coordinate specifications so one trade does not undo another. See single- and double-pane window considerations.

  • Heating and cooling: Air-source heat pumps; geothermal; high-efficiency furnaces, boilers and air conditioners. Coordinate equipment sizing, electrical capacity, ductwork and controls.

  • Hot water and recovery: High-efficiency and tankless water heaters; solar hot water; drain-water heat recovery. Confirm equipment eligibility and installation details before ordering.

  • Renewable energy and storage: Rooftop solar PV and battery storage. Utility connection, electrical work and roof condition can affect scope and timing.

  • Transportation electrification: Level 2 electric-vehicle charging stations. Electrical-service capacity and ESA requirements may apply.

  • Water conservation: Toilet replacement. Include only the measure and supporting work accepted by the City.


A new kitchen, bathroom finishes, addition, basement living space or structural wall removal is not automatically eligible merely because it happens during the same renovation. The City asks for a list of improvements, contractor quotes, costs and estimated rebates, then approves the Funding Request. Keep eligible energy work separately priced from cosmetic or space-creation work.


When Is an EnerGuide Assessment Required?

Most HELP projects begin with a pre-retrofit assessment by an Energy Advisor registered with Natural Resources Canada. The assessment reviews the home from basement to attic, produces an EnerGuide rating and Renovation Upgrade Report, and identifies relevant incentives. After construction, the advisor verifies completed improvements and supplies a new rating for the final submission.


Heat-pump-only and rooftop-solar-PV-only projects no longer require HELP’s pre- and post-retrofit EnerGuide assessments. For a heat-pump-only request, the City limits the listed eligible scope to the heat pump and installation, required electrical upgrades and building permits. The installer instead signs the HELP Installation Attestation and Project Completion Report. City of Toronto: streamlined heat-pump-only and solar-only process


The HELP exception does not automatically waive an assessment required by a separate rebate. Check the rules of every program before work starts.


Toronto HELP Interest Rates and Payment Examples for 2026

The City’s fixed rates below are valid until September 30, 2026. Rates after that date must be rechecked with the City.

  • 5 years — 3.34% fixed: Available for eligible approved projects.

  • 10 years — 4.01% fixed: Available for eligible approved projects.

  • 15 years — 4.46% fixed: Available for eligible approved projects.

  • 20 years — 4.75% fixed: Available only when the project includes solar, windows, geothermal and/or heat pumps.

The City adds a 2% administration charge. Payments are collected in 11 monthly instalments per year through the Pre-Authorized Tax Payment program—not 12 equal monthly payments. The City’s current illustration is:

  • $25,000 City-published amount: $455 over five years; $227 over 10 years; $152 over 15 years; $114 over 20 years.*

  • $50,000 City-published amount: $909 over five years; $455 over 10 years; $303 over 15 years; $227 over 20 years.*

  • $75,000 City-published amount: $1,364 over five years; $682 over 10 years; $455 over 15 years; $341 over 20 years.*

  • $125,000 City-published amount: $2,273 over five years; $1,136 over 10 years; $758 over 15 years; $568 over 20 years.*

*The 20-year restriction above applies. All figures are Canadian dollars and are the City’s estimated payment illustrations as of August 26, 2026; they are not a contractor price or a personalized loan quote. Review the full City payment table and current terms.


How Should HST Be Handled in the Renovation Budget?

Contractor pricing should show the subtotal, 13% HST and total payable in Canadian dollars. The City’s headline financing cap is not a construction-cost estimate, and its main HELP page does not expressly say that the $125,000 headline amount excludes HST. Submit detailed quotes and ask the City to confirm which taxes and related costs it accepts in the approved Funding Request. Do not assume an HST-exclusive quote can be grossed up beyond the property’s cap.


How to Apply for the Toronto Home Energy Loan Program

Step 1: Define the Energy-Retrofit Scope

Start with the problem to solve: heat loss, uncomfortable rooms, aging equipment, high energy use, insufficient electrical capacity or a planned solar system. For a renovation involving several systems, follow a coordinated large-renovation planning process before collecting final prices.

Step 2: Submit the City Application

Use the City’s official HELP application. If the City approves the initial application, it sends the maximum funding offer for the property. For a mortgaged property, the lender’s signed consent must reach the City before that funding offer is issued.

Step 3: Complete the Required Assessment

For a general multi-measure project, book the pre-retrofit EnerGuide assessment before renovations begin. Heat-pump-only and rooftop-solar-only applications follow the City’s streamlined route, but separate rebate rules may still dictate timing.

Step 4: Obtain Comparable, Detailed Quotes

Quotes should identify equipment models, quantities, labour, permits, electrical or structural enabling work, HST, exclusions and estimated rebates. If the work changes walls, openings, structure or major building systems, determine whether architectural drawings are required. Mechanical scope should also be coordinated through the HVAC drawings and design process.

Step 5: Submit the Funding Request and Sign the Agreement

The Funding Request identifies the improvements, contractor quote costs and expected rebates. After approval, the City issues a Property Owner Agreement (POA). Construction should not be treated as funded until the required parties sign and the City approves the agreement. If requested, the City may provide up to 30% of approved funds after POA approval.

Step 6: Complete the Work and Required Inspections

The homeowner hires and pays contractors and obtains municipal and provincial approvals. Keep signed contracts, change orders, invoices, proof of payment, equipment data, permit records and inspection documents. For general projects, arrange the post-retrofit EnerGuide assessment. For streamlined projects, obtain the installer-signed attestation and completion report.

Step 7: Submit Completion Documents and Begin Repayment

The City reviews the Project Completion Report, invoices and applicable EnerGuide label or installation attestations, then releases the remaining approved funds. Repayment begins after file closure through the property tax account. The outstanding balance may be paid at any time.



How Long Does HELP Approval Take?

The City publishes administrative lead times from the date it receives all required documents. They do not include lender processing, the energy assessment, design, permits, procurement or construction.

  • Email response: 2 business days.

  • Application review and response: 5–7 business days.

  • Funding offer after approved lender consent: 5–7 business days.

  • Property Owner Agreement after the Funding Request: Up to 15 business days.

  • Completion review, final payment and file closure: 10 business days.

  • Repayment start: 60 days after file closure.

The complete project timeline is longer because the work between POA approval and completion varies. Design revisions, permit review, utility coordination, equipment lead times, inspections, weather and concealed site conditions can all move the construction schedule.


Plan for the Funding Gap

The possible 30% advance may help with deposits, but the homeowner remains responsible for contractor payments and the City releases the remaining funds only after its completion review. Before signing a contract, prepare a cash-flow schedule showing deposits, progress payments, rebate timing, the HELP advance and final reimbursement. “Zero upfront” is not a safe assumption unless the written agreements and approved disbursement schedule prove it.


Can HELP Be Combined With Rebates?

Yes. The City says HELP may be combined with eligible City, provincial, federal and utility incentives. Each rebate has its own equipment, assessment, installation, documentation and timing rules, so stacking must be designed before work begins.


Ontario’s current Home Renovation Savings program advertises rebates of up to $12,000 for heat pumps, up to $10,000 for solar and storage, and up to $7,700 for insulation. Its assessment-based route requires an initial assessment before work and at least two qualifying upgrades; amounts and eligibility remain subject to its terms. Home Renovation Savings: current offers and assessment-based process

Two cautions prevent expensive planning errors:

Treat every rebate as conditional until the program administrator confirms the project, product and application sequence.


HELP Versus Other Ways to Finance a Retrofit

  • Toronto HELP: Fixed-rate, energy-specific financing collected through property taxes, with mortgage consent where applicable and a property-attached charge. Ask whether the work is eligible and what total amount the City approves under the CVA cap.

  • Home equity line or renovation loan: Private-lender financing with eligibility and rates determined by the lender. Compare rate, security, fees, repayment flexibility and any effect on mortgage terms.

  • Cash: No financing interest, but it uses available liquidity. Confirm that adequate emergency and construction-contingency reserves will remain.

  • Rebates: Conditional contributions after program requirements are met. Confirm whether registration, assessment or product approval must occur before work or purchase.

  • Canada Greener Homes Loan: Previously offered federal interest-free financing. New applications are closed as of August 26, 2026.

This table describes structural differences, not a financial recommendation. Compare the City’s written offer with lender documents and obtain independent financial advice for the household’s circumstances.


Permits, Inspections and Technical Coordination

HELP approval does not replace construction approvals. The City makes homeowners responsible for municipal and provincial permits. Depending on the project, the team may need Toronto Building permits, architectural or BCIN design, structural engineering, HVAC design, equipment sizing, electrical-service coordination and utility approvals.


Almost all electrical work in Ontario requires an ESA notification before work begins. When a Licensed Electrical Contractor performs the work, that contractor files the notification; ESA may inspect at several stages and issues a Certificate of Acceptance when the installation is accepted. Electrical Safety Authority: Notifications and Inspections For a homeowner-focused overview, see What Is ESA in Ontario?.

Contact the relevant professional early:

  • Registered Energy Advisor: HELP assessment and EnerGuide documents for general projects.

  • HVAC professional or mechanical designer: heat-pump selection, sizing, distribution and attestation.

  • Licensed Electrical Contractor: panel/service capacity, heat-pump circuits, solar, batteries or EV charging, ESA notification and inspection.

  • Architect, BCIN designer or engineer: drawings and calculations where the renovation changes structure, openings, layout or regulated systems.

  • Toronto Building: confirmation of building-permit requirements and inspections.

  • Mortgage lender: lender consent and any effect on mortgage conditions.

  • Real-estate lawyer: implications of the property charge for a planned sale, refinance or title transaction.

  • Contractor or design-build team: integrated scope, quotes, permits, sequencing, site work and completion records.



What Happens to the HELP Loan When You Sell?

The City states that HELP is attached to the property, not the individual owner, and that a new owner assumes the balance if the home is sold. The charge is also treated like property tax for penalties, remedies and lien priority. City of Toronto: HELP repayment and sale treatment


That program rule does not predict what a purchaser or mortgage lender will accept in a specific transaction. Before listing, refinancing or changing title, give the HELP documents to the real-estate lawyer and lender. A transaction may be negotiated on the basis that the balance transfers, is credited in the price or is paid out on closing.


Common HELP Mistakes to Avoid

  1. Treating $125,000 as guaranteed principal. The City applies the lesser-of cap and approves the actual amount.

  2. Using an outdated rate page. Current rates expire September 30, 2026; older web pages may show lower rates, a $75,000 cap or old incentive amounts.

  3. Starting work before the required assessment or approval. That can jeopardize HELP documentation or a separate rebate.

  4. Assuming every renovation cost is eligible. Separate energy measures from kitchens, finishes, additions and other general work.

  5. Ignoring lender-consent time. The City cannot issue its funding offer for a mortgaged property until it receives approved lender consent.

  6. Underestimating interim cash flow. The optional advance is up to 30%; final funds follow completion review.

  7. Failing to coordinate permits and ESA. HELP is financing, not permission to build or energize equipment.

  8. Counting rebates before approval. Program amounts, products and deadlines can change.

  9. Forgetting the sale/refinance effect. The property-attached charge belongs in legal and mortgage planning.

  10. Accepting vague contractor quotes. Missing equipment specifications, HST, enabling work and exclusions make the Funding Request and project budget unreliable.


416 Construction Practical Guidance

The following is design-build guidance, not a City rule:

  • Build one scope matrix with four columns: eligible HELP measure, enabling work, non-eligible renovation work and possible rebate.

  • Have the Energy Advisor, designer, mechanical contractor and electrical contractor review the same existing-condition information before final equipment is ordered.

  • Ask for alternates in the quote so the project can be adjusted if the City approves less than expected.

  • Keep at least one construction contingency outside the HELP maximum; concealed conditions and non-eligible work can still arise.

  • Align contractor progress payments with the approved advance, household cash flow and final City disbursement.

  • Do not remove an existing heating system until the replacement design, electrical capacity, equipment availability and inspection sequence are confirmed.


Conclusion: Can HELP Finance Up to $125,000 in Toronto Renovations?

Yes—Toronto HELP can finance approved energy renovations up to the program ceiling, but the actual amount is property- and project-specific. Eligibility, the 10% CVA limit, interest, the 2% administration charge, mortgage consent, assessment rules, contractor quotes and City approval all affect the result. Apply before work, verify the current rate after September 30, 2026, and plan the construction and financing as one coordinated process.


416 Construction provides verified Toronto/GTA renovation services that include architectural drawings, structural engineering, building permits and construction. For a HELP-funded project, a coordinated design-build team can turn the Energy Advisor’s recommendations into a defined scope, permit strategy, detailed budget and buildable schedule. Discuss a Toronto home-energy renovation with 416 Construction.



Informational disclaimer: This article summarizes public program information available on August 26, 2026. It is not financial, legal, tax, engineering or code-compliance advice and does not constitute HELP approval. Program funding, rates, rebates and administrative interpretation can change. Confirm current terms with the City of Toronto and obtain advice from the appropriate lender, lawyer, Energy Advisor and regulated design or construction professional.


Frequently Asked Questions

Can I Actually Receive $125,000 From Toronto HELP?

Possibly, but $125,000 is a maximum rather than a guaranteed project cheque. The City says the total loan value, including the funding amount, interest and 2% administration charge, cannot exceed the lesser of $125,000 or 10% of the property’s CVA. The City’s written funding offer and approved Funding Request establish the property-specific result.

How Does the 10% CVA Limit Work?

The City compares $125,000 with 10% of the property’s current value assessment and applies the lower ceiling. For example, 10% of an $800,000 CVA is $80,000. Because the City says funding, interest and the administration charge count in the loan value, ask HELP staff to confirm the approved funding principal and total repayment obligation.

What Homes Qualify for the Toronto Home Energy Loan Program?

The City lists detached, semi-detached and row houses, duplexes, triplexes and other low-rise residential buildings with a maximum of three storeys and six units. The property must be in Toronto with an “M” postal code, every owner on title must consent, the tax/utility history must qualify, and mortgage-lender consent is required where applicable.

Must the Property Be Owner-Occupied?

The City’s current public eligibility list says the applicant must own the qualifying property but does not expressly list owner-occupancy as a HELP condition. That should not be read as blanket approval for every tenanted arrangement. Owners of rental or multi-unit properties should describe occupancy and building configuration in the application and obtain written confirmation before committing to work.

Does Toronto HELP Require a Credit Check?

The City’s published eligibility page does not state a conventional minimum credit score, but it also does not promise “no credit check.” It reviews property tax and utility payment history, and the mortgage lender must decide whether to consent when a mortgage exists. Applicants should answer City and lender information requests without relying on third-party no-credit-check claims.

Why Does My Mortgage Lender Need to Consent?

HELP creates a charge attached to the property and collected with property taxes. If the property is mortgaged, the City requires written lender consent before issuing the funding offer and provides a customized consent form. Ask the lender about processing time and any mortgage conditions early; its review is separate from the City’s published lead times.

Do I Need an EnerGuide Assessment?

Usually. General HELP projects require a pre-retrofit assessment and a post-retrofit verification by a Natural Resources Canada-registered Energy Advisor. Heat-pump-only and rooftop-solar-only HELP projects use a streamlined process without those assessments. A separate Ontario rebate may still require an assessment, so check all programs before starting or purchasing equipment.

Can I Get Money Before the Renovation Is Finished?

After the City approves the Funding Request and signed Property Owner Agreement, it can provide up to 30% of approved funds if requested. The remaining amount is paid after the City accepts completion documents. Because contractors may require deposits and progress payments sooner, prepare an interim cash-flow plan rather than assuming HELP covers every invoice when due.

Are HELP Payments Monthly and Do the Examples Include HST?

HELP is repaid through 11 monthly property-tax instalments per year under the Pre-Authorized Tax Payment program. The City’s payment table is a financing illustration, not a contractor price. Its main page does not clearly characterize the headline cap as HST-exclusive, so quotes should state subtotal and 13% HST and the City should confirm accepted costs in writing.

Which Projects Can Use the 20-Year Term?

The City limits the 20-year HELP term to projects that include solar, new windows, geothermal and/or heat pumps. Other approved work may use five-, 10- or 15-year terms. As of August 26, 2026, the listed 20-year fixed rate is 4.75%, valid only until September 30, 2026.

What Happens to HELP When I Sell My Toronto Home?

The City says the outstanding HELP balance stays with the property and the new owner assumes it unless the balance is cleared. A buyer or lender may nevertheless negotiate a payout or price adjustment. Give the Property Owner Agreement and current balance to a real-estate lawyer and mortgage professional before listing or refinancing.

Is Toronto HELP Available in Mississauga, Oakville or Vaughan?

No. Toronto HELP requires a property inside the City of Toronto with a postal code beginning with “M.” North York, Etobicoke and Scarborough are part of Toronto and may qualify; Mississauga, Oakville, Burlington, Vaughan, Richmond Hill and Pickering are separate municipalities and must use programs available in their own jurisdictions.

Can HELP Be Stacked With Ontario Rebates?

The City permits HELP to be combined with eligible rebates and incentives. Ontario’s Home Renovation Savings program currently offers separate assessment-based and no-assessment streams, each with its own timing and product rules. Register in the correct sequence, subtract expected rebates transparently in the Funding Request, and treat each rebate as conditional until its administrator confirms eligibility.

Can I Start Work Before the City Approves the Loan?

The City’s process places the application, applicable energy assessment, Funding Request and approved Property Owner Agreement before construction. Starting earlier can create a financing or rebate eligibility problem. The safe approach is to wait for written City approval and satisfy any rebate preconditions before ordering equipment or authorizing non-refundable work.

Does HELP Approval Replace Building Permits or ESA Inspections?

No. The homeowner remains responsible for all required municipal and provincial permits. Structural or regulated building work may need Toronto Building approval, and almost all Ontario electrical work requires an ESA notification before it begins. A Licensed Electrical Contractor files the notification for contracted electrical work and should provide the resulting ESA Certificate of Acceptance.



Sources and Further Reading

Comments


416 Construction Custom Homes

  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page